Overwhelming greens

Bali is green…. stunning, vibrant green. The colour I miss the most from the dusty streets of Yangon.

IMG_0048

Not just the fresh neon-green of newly planted rice….

IMG_7457

…and World Heritage enlisted, centuries old rice terraces painstakingly carved into the slopes of the volcanoes and the steep sides of the river gorges….

IMG_6512

IMG_7452

…with jungle-covered mountain backdrops….

IMG_7771

….but also the everyday scenes of houses, temples, bridges, maybe even slower people being overgrown by moss.

IMG_6977

IMG_7059

The Balinese believe the evil spirits live in the sea, but I feel their presence somewhere else: when I descend into the gorges, walking or by motorcycle, anywhere, near the Monkey Forest, or just on the mountain roads, I feel greenness enveloping me completely. The humidity is stifling, I can’t even see the river or little stream under the abundance of green, I only hear it, green shadows sway and lurk, the air stands still for a second, and only the silence vibrates. Sometimes I fear if I linger too long, my spirit won’t be able to follow me any longer, it will get trapped there forever.

IMG_7448

But it is the kind of excitement I crave, of course. Some of my favourite mountain routes have a dozen gorges to cross.
And probably I wouldn’t even care about getting trapped there forever.

Leave a Reply

