Monkeying around

This is how I am feeling sometimes, dealing with the internet these days:

IMG_7171

I am not a fan of monkeys. They are smart. They are naughty. They are quick to unzip bags, and they can bite. But I enjoy watching them from a safe distance.

IMG_7624

Oops, quite close up. They are used to humans because many feed them. I don’t, I just take a free ride at the expense of others who end up screaming when a cheeky one jumps right on top of their heads.

IMG_7215

What I sort of like is the whole creepy atmosphere of the temple of the dead, where these monkeys reside. The monster statues and the monkeys together. The giant trees and the vibrating greens and the lurking shadows. It is positively hair-raising. The downside is that the camera goes crazy with the shadows and I have a hard time taking good photos.

IMG_6974

Here are some favourites anyway from Ubud’s Monkey Forest, and the two other monkey temples nearby, Alas Kedaton and Bukit Sari (which were completely deserted by the way).

IMG_7535

IMG_7561

Of course, the babies are the crowd favourites at Monkey Forest. Here, two females were fighting and tugging for the “possession” of a frightened and screaming baby.

IMG_6960

IMG_6971

IMG_6940

IMG_7541

IMG_7131

IMG_7119

IMG_7085

IMG_7130

I don’t think I would enjoy this job, though it is quite relaxed. (He feeds the monkeys and helps visitors take pictures holding them.)

IMG_7140

IMG_6979

Not sure why I keep visiting, I guess in a sense I still enjoy the shiver down my spine. But the vision of death is rather chilling and it is difficult to push it to the back of my mind.

 

Leave a Reply

