Windows of Kathmandu

I don’t even know where or how to start, this city is sensory overload, and so stunning, so different from everything else I’ve seen, though with familiar bits and pieces, like wooden windows that remind me of Burmese temples, the jingling bell of Hindu ceremonies in Bali, the curries and marigold garlands of Kuala Lumpur, the madness of the streets of Yangon, Chinese dumplings.

But of course so many things are completely new, like yet another illegible alphabet, gorgeous saris and scarves, and a sacred cow that sneaked up on me from behind while I was taking a photo and scared me shitless when it appeared in my peripheral vision.

I enjoy the nice weather, sunny, but not crazy hot, though the dust is making me cough now. And these evenings would make the average Bangkokian reach for a jacket and gloves but I love them 🙂

So far so good. Wifi upload speed is pathetic, though…..

I’ll just start with the windows, because I like them, not that I didn’t see anything more impressive, but as I said before, I don’t even know where to start.

IMG_8427

IMG_8446

IMG_8489

IMG_8494

IMG_8497

IMG_8498

IMG_8499

IMG_8523

IMG_8532

IMG_8555

IMG_8597

IMG_8650

IMG_8655

IMG_8712

IMG_8788

 

3 thoughts on “Windows of Kathmandu”

    1. Oh yes, it’s a challenge. Like a student at the very last table in the last row, always late and no homework. And the teacher needs to find something that makes him likable, and it may turn out he is an exquisite artist if he takes the trouble. Something like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

