So many hopes

The insane guesthouse situation in Burma means only dorm beds are affordable, and it means sharing with too many people – but at the moment I actually sort of enjoy being forced to interact with people for a few hours at a time. At one point in Yangon, it was a Canadian guy teaching in Korea, a young Dutch girl on the way to Australia to pick up a working holiday visa, a Peruvian guy learning Japanese, going round the world, and squeezing in a few hours of work every day on his laptop, a Japanese guy full of scary tattoos, learning Spanish and going round the world, a Chinese girl studying English in Bangkok, an Ozzie who’s just been to Palau for diving, an American chick studying Chinese in Taipei and practising with the Chinese girl all the time, but the Chinese girl always trying to switch to English in order to practise as well, oh and she also recited all her lines from the musical Chicago in pretty good Hungarian, and then in the corner, me. Rather hectic, yes.

So I went to school again and walked in the city just to get some “peace and quiet” 🙂

And now that I’m typing this, a French guy just off the bus walks into the dorm room in Mandalay, and talks about his Indonesian girlfriend, travelling around all the places I know as well, and maybe opening a guesthouse in Sulawesi.

Where was I?  I just wanted to share some photos of Yangon’s spectacular golden pagoda, but how does it link to whatever I have been talking about now?

It was weird going there now. I know I won’t be back in Myanmar anytime soon (unless someone hires me to be a guide perhaps and pays my expenses….), so it’s my last visit for a while now. Before, it was there all the time, visible from the windows on the top floor, far off in the distance. I went a couple of times over the two years. Still like it. Still the heart of Myanmar for me. Maybe should start a whole new post. But then what do I put in the header here? Certainly no photos of dorm rooms (however clean, brand new and fresh they are).

Found the right one. The face of the new Burma 🙂  There are so many kids everywhere. And they are welcome and smiled at, and parents often let us play with them and hold them and take photos, and quite visibly locals like having them around in restaurants, temples, shops…. Hope they will never know any of the hardships and suffering that crippled the past few generations in this region…. there is so much hope around here, what I remember from home from my early teenage years…. so badly shattered…. but here, it’s a brand new story still waiting to be written….

Where to nominate my post for the “most incoherent ever”?

 

Leave a Reply

