Black, gold, red

When I first went to Luang Prabang in 2003, I didn’t have a camera. There I was, surrounded by black, gold, red, glitter, the November full moon festivities, dragon boats, a million candles, and I couldn’t take a single picture. So I had to go back for years later. And then, I lost my photos, only to be recovered almost by accident, three years later. It was a long wait. Many full moons have come and gone, and I’ve travelled a lot since, but if I look back at the pictures now, the simple, humble wooden temples still shine.

DSCF0330

I believe all of these photos are from the most famous one, Wat Xieng Thong, at the bank of the mighty Khong, where the naga king resides. I hope in a lucky moment it is still possible to have it all to yourself. Except for the resident monks, of course.

DSCF0260

DSCF0235

DSCF0274

DSCF0293

DSCF0301

DSCF0317

DSCF0640

DSCF0643

DSCF0325

DSCF0358

DSCF0372

DSCF0367

DSCF0377

DSCF0383

DSCF0387

DSCF0230

DSCF0678

 

Leave a Reply

